Womens Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards

Finalists Announced, Vote Open 18 April – 1 May 2016

The public voting has opened for the 2016 #BeAGameChangerAwards organised by the Women's Sport Trust. The awards, now in their second year, are designed to showcase the incredible talent from across women's sport, and to highlight the need for media, sponsors and the public to invest at all levels.

An expert panel of leading influencers in women's sport met in early April to decide the shortlists. The panel included Anna Watkins, Andy Barrow, Connie Henry, Penny Briscoe, Samantha Taylor, Sally Hancock, Leon Mann, Liz Ellen and Joanna Manning-Cooper. The panel deliberated over 65 shortlisted nominations in making the final recommendations, found here, in the following categories:

Sporting Role Model – individual
Sporting Role Model – team
Ambassador of Women's Sport
Sponsor partnership
NGB of the Year
Inspiring initiative – local
Inspiring initiative – national
Media Initiative of the Year
Journalist of the Year
Imagery of the Year

Anna Watkins, panel member and a Patron of the Women's Sport Trust, said: “The quality of entries was outstanding. Not only are we seeing an increasing number of nominations each year, but the results and progress made has made the process even more difficult. I'm excited to see how the public votes and learn the results in May.”

Despite the success of 2015, including gender parity at the Oxbridge boat races, the achievements of England's Lionesses, governmental support from Tracey Crouch and enlightened sponsorship from SSE, there is still a significant amount of work to be done. The #BeAGameChangerAwards help continue to raise the profile of women's sport and celebrate its success. Last year's event recognised the likes of Nicola Adams MBE, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and BBC Sport for their contributions, with Clare Balding as key note speaker. This year's awards, sponsored by software giant Microsoft, promise to be even bigger and better.

Jo Bostock, co-founder of the Women's Sport Trust, added: “The momentum behind women's sport has never been greater – but it still requires ongoing investment, media attention and leadership for that progress to be sustainable. In this, an Olympic year, our Awards recognise those individuals and organisations who are helping to realise the full potential of women's sport. They demonstrate how sport has the power to accelerate gender equality, bring brand values to life and tell great stories.”

The awards are organised by The Women's Sport Trust, a charity that raises the visibility and increases the impact of women's sport through the promotion of role models, increasing media coverage and improving funding. Alongside Microsoft, the 2016 awards have attracted sponsors including Barclays, Lloyd's of London, Pinsent Masons and Travers Smith.

The voting process can be completed now and is open until 1 May.

The winners will be announced at the Women's Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards in Central London on 12 May 2016.

The next decade will be key in the future of women's sport. So visit http://www.womenssporttrust.com/bagc2016/ to vote for who you think deserves to be recognised for their contribution and join us in making this year's #BeAGameChangerAwards one to remember.