Sporting Equals 2016 Leaderboard Conference

Sporting Equals 2016 Leaderboard Conference 

Sporting Equals will host its the third Leaderboard Conference on Tuesday 22nd November, 2016. The Conference will focus on supporting National Governing Bodies and sports organisations to increase ethnic diversity in their boardrooms whilst also helping them to meet the requirements of the new Sports Governance Code. 

The event will be hosted by the Ernst and Young Sport Industry Group and will be Chaired by Helen Grant MP and will include a host of prominent speakers including Phil Smith, Sport England Director of Sport, Paul Boyle, Vice Chancellor and President, University of Leicester, Waseem Khan, CEO at Leciester County Cricket, Densign White, Sporting Equals Chair and Mihir Warty, Sporting Equals Trustee.  

The Panel session will be hosted by Mike Wedderburn from Sky Sports and include the prominant Olympic Champion Christine Ohuruogu MBE and distinguished Paralympic Champion Baroness Tanni Grey- Thompson.

The event will be used as a platform for launching the latest leaderboard audit results which identify the lack representation of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) in leadership and decision making roles within the sector.  It will also discuss the governance code and how the sector needs to work harder to build a culture that embraces diversity and inclusiveness.

Christine Ohuruogu commenting on her role as a Sporting Equals Ambassador: 

“I'm delighted to be supporting the Sporting Equals Leaderboard programme. The continued work of Sporting Equals will I'm sure go a long way to helping create a long term solution for BAME professionals and former athletes as they look to secure board level positions in sport. I am looking forward to attending the conference and becoming more involved.” 

The event will see the launch of the LeaderBoard Academy that will help empower BAME communities into sport and Sporting Equals will be sharing a new resource guide to help organisations in increasing ethnic diversity in the governing bodies of sport.