On March 18th 2017 Sir Lenny Henry will host the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) event in London, recognising and celebrating sporting excellence within Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) communities.


This year's judges include former England defender Sol Campbell, Surrey and England batsman Mark Butcher and international athletes Vanessa Daobry and Jason Gardner MBE. Following the Judges Panel decisions earlier this month the final shortlist has been released. Award categories include Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year, Coach of the Year, Community Sports Project of the Year and an Inspirational Performance of the Year Award.


The four-time Olympic champion Farah will go head-to-head with England second row forward Maro Itoje, Olympic Taekwondo silver medallist Lutalo Muhammad and two-time Olympic rower and gold medal winner at the Rio Olympics Mohamed Sbihi, for the coveted Sportsman of the Year award.


The finalists for Sportswoman of the Year award feature London 2012 Olympic gold medallist Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill, Nicola Adams, the two-time Olympic boxing champion, Rio Paralympic gold medallist Kadeena Cox and Olympic Hockey Gold medallist Sam Quek.


Sporting Equals Chairman and three-time judo Olympian Densign White said: "We are delighted by the quality of our shortlist for the 2017 BEDSAs and looking forward to celebrating all that is good in BAME sport at the Hilton Park Lane with Sir Lenny Henry and our esteemed sporting guests."


Previous BEDSA winners include former hept-athlete Jessica Ennis-Hill and Denise Lewis, gymnast Rebecca Downie, F1 driver Lewis Hamilton and former boxer Frank Bruno.


Public voting is now closed and winners will be announced on the Awards night ,


The Shortlist includes;

Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person   

Alice Tai – Para Swimming

Harleen Kaur – WMKF Kick Boxing

Haseeb Hameed – Cricket


The British Army Unsung Hero                                        

Ezdihar Abdulmula – Bradford

Inderpal Singh Cheema – London

Kwesi Edubatey – Luton


England Athletics Coach of the Year 

Chris Hughton – Football

Ottis Gibson – Cricket

Sunil Birdy – Boccia


UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year

Azeem Rafiq – Cricket

Kadeena Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Ruqsana Begum – Muay Thai Kick Boxing


​Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year

Leicestershire CCC Community Engagement – Leicester

Sport 4 Life – Birmingham

Spring Sports, Leisure and Recreation – Nottingham


Mind Wellbeing Award

Jewel Miah MBE – Oldham

Manisha Tailor MBE – London

Sonia Smith – London


Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities Award 

Al Madina -  London

Indian Gymkhana + Stanmore Jafferys Football Academy – London

Interfaith Games – Regional


Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year

Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill – Heptathlon

Kadenna Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Nicola Adams OBE – Boxing

Sam Quek MBE – Hockey


Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year   

Lutalo Muhammad – Taekwando

Maro Itoje – Rugby Union

Mohamed Sbihi MBE – Rowing

Sir Mo Farah – Athletics

The following category has been chosen by the judging panel:

·         Lifetime Achievement

​The following categories will be chosen by the Award sponsor:

​​·         Football Association Special Recognition

​​·         Tennis Foundation Special Recognition

Further information is available throught BEDSA