On March 18th 2017 Sir Lenny Henry will host the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) event in London, recognising and celebrating sporting excellence within Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) communities.


This year's judges include former England defender Sol Campbell, Surrey and England batsman Mark Butcher and international athletes Vanessa Daobry and Jason Gardner MBE. Following the Judges Panel decisions earlier this month the final shortlist has been released. Award categories include Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year, Coach of the Year, Community Sports Project of the Year and an Inspirational Performance of the Year Award.


The four-time Olympic champion Farah will go head-to-head with England second row forward Maro Itoje, Olympic Taekwondo silver medallist Lutalo Muhammad and two-time Olympic rower and gold medal winner at the Rio Olympics Mohamed Sbihi, for the coveted Sportsman of the Year award.


The finalists for Sportswoman of the Year award feature London 2012 Olympic gold medallist Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill, Nicola Adams, the two-time Olympic boxing champion, Rio Paralympic gold medallist Kadeena Cox and Olympic Hockey Gold medallist Sam Quek.


Sporting Equals Chairman and three-time judo Olympian Densign White said: "We are delighted by the quality of our shortlist for the 2017 BEDSAs and looking forward to celebrating all that is good in BAME sport at the Hilton Park Lane with Sir Lenny Henry and our esteemed sporting guests."


Previous BEDSA winners include former hept-athlete Jessica Ennis-Hill and Denise Lewis, gymnast Rebecca Downie, F1 driver Lewis Hamilton and former boxer Frank Bruno.


Public voting is now open, for further detail on how to vote online visit 


Don't miss out on showing your support to the BEDSA finalists 2017 and get voting. Votes can be made online at or call the numbers below to vote your winner.

Calls cost 13p per minute plus your phone company's access charge. Please ask the bill payers permission.


Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person: 0871 244 0941    

Alice Tai – Para Swimming

Harleen Kaur – WMKF Kick Boxing

Haseeb Hameed – Cricket


The British Army Unsung Hero: 0871 244 0942                                                 

Ezdihar Abdulmula – Bradford

Inderpal Singh Cheema – London

Kwesi Edubatey – Luton


England Athletics Coach of the Year: 0871 244 0943    

Chris Hughton – Football

Ottis Gibson – Cricket

Sunil Birdy – Boccia


UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year: 0871 244 0944    

Azeem Rafiq – Cricket

Kadeena Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Ruqsana Begum – Muay Thai Kick Boxing


​Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year: 0871 2440945 

Leicestershire CCC Community Engagement – Leicester

Sport 4 Life – Birmingham

Spring Sports, Leisure and Recreation – Nottingham


Mind Wellbeing Award: 0871 244 0946    

Jewel Miah MBE – Oldham

Manisha Tailor MBE – London

Sonia Smith – London


Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities Award: 0871 244 0947    

Al Madina -  London

Indian Gymkhana + Stanmore Jafferys Football Academy – London

Interfaith Games – Regional


Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year: 0871 244 0948    

Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill – Heptathlon

Kadenna Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Nicola Adams OBE – Boxing

Sam Quek MBE – Hockey


Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year: 0871 244 0949    

Lutalo Muhammad – Taekwando

Maro Itoje – Rugby Union

Mohamed Sbihi MBE – Rowing

Sir Mo Farah – Athletics

The following category will be voted on by the judges and the headline sponsor:

·         Lifetime Achievement

​The following category will be voted on by the Award sponsor:

​​·         Tennis Foundation Special Recognition

PUBLIC VOTING can also been done through the BEDSA webpage,




View more news & blogs